Highly influ­enced by Black Sab­bath and cited as a major influ­ence on the Doom Metal genre, Witchfinder Gen­eral formed in 1979 in Stour­bridge, West Mid­lands as part of the New Wave Of Brit­ish Heavy Metal move­ment of the early 1980s. Death Pen­alty was Witchfinder General's debut album release on the Heavy Metal Records label in 1982. Witchfinder's second release on the album came one year later with 1983's Friends Of Hell. The bands career was fairly short-lived, though a third, untitled album was in the works, by 1984 Witchfinder Gen­eral was no more.

It's not all bad news though, Novem­ber 2006 marked the reform­a­tion of Witchfinder Gen­eral (minus vocal­ist & writer Zeeb Parkes) with a third album release titled 'Resur­rec­tion' in 2008 on Bur­ied  In Time and Dust Records. The reformed line-up is as follows;

Gary Mar­tin (Vocals)
Phil Cope (Gui­tars)
Rod Hawkes (Bass)
Dermot Red­mond (Drums)

You can keep up to date with all things Witchfinder Gen­eral over on their offi­cial web­site.

Band Mem­bers (at the time of HMR Releases):

Zeeb Parkes (Vocals)
Phil Cope (Gui­tars)
Rob Hawkes (Bass)
Gra­ham Ditch­field (Drums)



Tour Dates:

Witchfinder Gen­eral reformed in 2006 appar­ently stat­ing they will not per­form live again. A third album titled 'Resur­rec­ted' was released in Septem­ber 2008 on Bur­ied In Time and Dust Records. To keep updated on Witchfinder Gen­eral, be sure to check out their offi­cial web­site.